RSS

Quality Secondhand Discoveries

01 Jun

I heard about Moving On from a relative who is also setting up home.  It sounded interesting so I thought I would give it a try and sign up for their weekly e-mail.  It’s a pretty nifty system-they e-mail you on a Thursday to tell you which houses are selling their content that weekend.  You can check out the pics and if you like anything, go along to the sale.  It’s not an auction, so you just have to get there at the time it starts and pick what you like!  There are some yucky things, but some real bargains too 🙂   This house in Fish Hoek has some beautiful old tables which could be spruced up and look just fab.  The sale is on Sunday and starts at 10am, so I would suggest getting there 15 minutes before.

How it works is that each person gets a lucky number (so there’s no incentive to get there super early!).  One by one you go into the house and ‘buy’ whatever items you like.  They usually are relatively well priced items and if you have a good eye, you can pick up some great finds.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 1, 2012 in Dining

 

2 responses to “Quality Secondhand Discoveries

  1. Kalila

    September 26, 2012 at 10:09 am

    It’s so nice to find someone blogging about Moving On 😀
    It’s my partner Richard’s business and I always wish that I had the time and energy to do some home DIY. I really like what you did to the dresser.
    Would you be ok with us using your post on our webpage as a recommendation? I’ll put in your blog address to if you’d like me to.
    Thanks, and keep blogging!
    Karin.

     
    • thebargainbox

      September 26, 2012 at 1:16 pm

      Yes, of course, please do! I still am a huge fan of Moving On! It would be great if you could put my address on the post 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
