RSS

DIY help: A small, round coffee table perhaps?

20 Aug

I noticed these oversized plastic cotton reels outside my lecture hall a while back, and wondered what they were for, and why they were just lying on the floor next to the dustbin.  And so with much courage I went on a mission to discover if I could take one-they looked like they could be used to make something fabulous!  I found out that they were used by the ‘cable guys’ but were about to be thrown away.  It didn’t take much for me, after hearing this, to put one under each arm, head home on the bus (which was rather difficult, I won’t lie, as they are quite big!) and start dreaming of what I can do with them.

I have an idea so far, but I’m hoping you will be able to help me.  I was thinking of turning them into little coffee tables.  They are made out of plastic, so by themselves aren’t terribly strong.  But with a good clean/varnish, a piece of solid wood on the top, it could be turned into a great retro table I’m thinking.

Let me know your ideas, and perhaps I could turn them into action!  I have three in total, so the sky’s the limit in terms of what to do with them.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 20, 2012 in DIY

 

Tags: ,

5 responses to “DIY help: A small, round coffee table perhaps?

  1. carmanel campbell

    August 22, 2012 at 9:37 am

    I would definately use these as small side tables for friends at an outdoor braai. Perfect idea.

     
  2. Lee

    August 22, 2012 at 3:40 pm

    Love the coffee table idea! A;ternatively, if you feeling super creative, you could make it into some sort of board game 🙂

     
  3. Belinda

    August 23, 2012 at 9:35 am

    Stack them on top of each other and create a tall bookshelf?

     
  4. thebargainbox

    August 24, 2012 at 11:57 am

    I like these ideas! Watch this space for the final product …. 🙂

     
  5. Sarah

    September 3, 2012 at 12:38 pm

    I love the coffee table idea! To have small side tables in between couches and chairs in a lounge would make for a beautiful look and convenient to place your mugs as the tables right next to your chair!

     

Leave a Reply

 
