RSS

The yellow revolution

24 Aug

I have this crazy obsession with the colour yellow at the moment.  I think it’s because it’s reaching the end of our winter here in South Africa, and the colour reminds me of all the things I miss about summer.  I think it’s a great colour to add to a room to give it a special lift and it can be used in small quantities yet is really striking and effective.  I inherited a beautiful ball and claw foot dining room table from my grandparents when they moved house, and I’m thinking of somehow using yellow paint to give it a bit of a spruce up.

Here are some ideas for using yellow in your bathroom which hopefully gets you inspired.

Above: I love how this bathroom is so simple yet so striking.  A yellow wall, some black and white wallpaper and furniture, an oversized picture and a ball and claw bath and you’ve got a recipe for perfection.

Above:  This is a great idea to add colour to the bathroom without making it a permanent fixture.  The yellow can be changed any time if you get bored of it or feel like another colour.

Above:  If you’re not brave enough to use yellow in the bathroom, why not paint a piece of furniture yellow and you can put it in your bathroom to store towels.  I would prefer to do this similar idea with a ball and claw foot cabinet, but this one looks great too.

Above:  For a more modern look in a smaller space, these yellow tiles are great as they look trendy yet are practical too

Above:  This wallpaper certainly makes a statement, and requires nothing else in the bathroom but the toilet.

Above:  I’m not a huge fan of this myself, but if you’re into the whole playing with patterns idea, this could be the look for you.

Above:  This statement wallpaper is paired with the neutral yet bold cabinet underneath and certainly creates a wow factor.

Above:  This is a more classic look with a slightly paler colour yellow.  The flowers used, bathtub and taps all add to the look and really create a feeling of luxury.

Above:  This bathroom looks like a great idea if you’re on a tight budget.  Just pair simple grey tiles with some yellow accessories and you’ve got a winner.  The white of the bathroom appliances also compliments the look, and you can always change the colour if you get bored of it.

Above: I love the legs of these sinks-they really say a lot.  The yellow mosaic tiles here are interesting as they create texture and dimension.

Above:  This yellow wallpaper is exquisite.  It has a classic feel about it and can be paired with many other colour accessories.

Picture credits:

Picture 2: Trendzona

Picture 3: Mostaza Seed

Picture 1, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 & 11: Arcilook

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 24, 2012 in Bathroom, Inspiration

 

2 responses to “The yellow revolution

  1. HomeClick (@homeclick)

    August 24, 2012 at 2:36 pm

    I love that second images use of yellow. Very subtle but it pops. I think it’s the modern style decor that draws me in to it as well. http://bit.ly/MQA59D

     
  2. peacelovekappa

    September 5, 2012 at 12:07 am

    Ugghh I LOVE yellow. When I re-painted my room, I insisted upon yellow. Dreary New England days are horrible without that color. I LOVE the bathroom with the black tub as well, it looks amazing. Black and yellow look so put together, without looking bumblebee-ish.

     

Leave a Reply

 
